30 Years of the Sakharov Prize

Magnum Photographers

Awarded for the first time in 1988 to Nelson Mandela and Anatoli Marchenko, the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is the highest tribute paid to human rights work by the European Union. It gives recognition to individuals, groups and organizations that have made an outstanding contribution to protecting freedom of thought.

To mark 30 years of the Sakharov Prize, Magnum photographers Jérôme SessiniBieke DepoorterEnri Canaj, and Newsha Tavakolian have worked with four remarkable individuals, all  staunch defenders of human rights, to shine a light on their work. A commission for European Parliament, these stories are presented here.